Free NEC practice test · Chapter 7

Special Conditions practice questions

A free practice test over NEC Chapter 7 — special conditions — for the journeyman exam: 40 questions across 7 articles, each with the answer and the why behind it.

40 questions · free · answers included NEC 2023 · Updated

How to use this practice test

These 40 journeyman-exam practice questions cover NEC Chapter 7 across 40 code concepts, every one with the correct answer and a plain-English explanation of the rule behind it. They come from the same question bank the Loomi app trains you on — this is the free web sample, not a separate watered-down set.

Work straight down the sheet and answer before you peek: each question hides its answer behind Show answer & explanation. Questions tagged Code lookup are speed drills — race your codebook to the cited section. Printing this page gives you a clean paper worksheet with the answers left off.

Sizing standby capacity for automatic load transfer

NEC 702.4(A)(2)

When optional standby loads connect automatically, size the source for the full connected load — unless a 750.30 energy management system caps what actually gets connected.

Q1 NEC 702.4(A)(2)

An optional standby system connects its loads automatically, and no energy management system is installed. Per 702.4(A)(2)(a), what must the standby source be capable of supplying?

  1. A The full load that is automatically connected
  2. B The demand load calculated under the Article 220 Part V optional method for existing dwellings
  3. C 125% of the largest connected motor load
  4. D Only the loads that are drawing power at the moment of transfer
Show answer & explanation

Correct: A — The full load that is automatically connected

702.4(A)(2)(a) requires the standby source to supply the full load that is automatically connected, not just whatever happens to be drawing power at a given moment. A motor-specific 125% factor doesn't apply here, and 702.4(A)(2) points to Parts I through IV of Article 220 (or another approved method), not the Part V optional dwelling method.

Transfer equipment requirements and portable generator exception

NEC 702.5(A)

Optional standby systems need listed transfer equipment to block backfeed, unless a qualified-persons-only portable generator setup isolates the normal supply another way.

Q2 NEC 702.5(A)

Under what condition may a portable generator be temporarily connected to a premises wiring system without transfer equipment?

  1. A Whenever the generator is rated under 15 kW
  2. B Where the generator is used for fewer than 24 hours
  3. C Where qualified persons ensure proper maintenance/supervision and the normal supply is isolated by a lockable disconnect or disconnected conductors
  4. D Whenever the generator has its own listed neutral bonding switch
Show answer & explanation

Correct: C — Where qualified persons ensure proper maintenance/supervision and the normal supply is isolated by a lockable disconnect or disconnected conductors

702.5(A) permits skipping transfer equipment only where conditions of maintenance and supervision ensure that only qualified persons service the installation, and the normal supply is physically isolated by a lockable disconnecting means or disconnection of the normal supply conductors. Generator size, neutral bonding hardware, and duration of use are not the qualifying conditions under this section.

Shock hazard warning sign for grounding conductor removal

NEC 702.7(B)

If pulling a ground or bonding connection in the normal source equipment breaks the alternate source's grounding electrode conductor path, that equipment needs a shock hazard warning sign.

Q3 NEC 702.7(B)

Under 702.7(B), where must the required shock hazard warning sign be installed?

  1. A At the normal power source equipment
  2. B At every receptacle fed by the optional standby system
  3. C At the alternate power source equipment
  4. D At the service disconnecting means only
Show answer & explanation

Correct: A — At the normal power source equipment

702.7(B) requires the warning sign at the normal power source equipment, because that's where removing a grounding or bonding connection could interrupt the alternate source's grounding electrode conductor path. Labeling the alternate source equipment, the service disconnect, or downstream receptacles doesn't address where the hazardous connection actually is.

Warning sign at portable generator power inlet

NEC 702.7(C)

A power inlet for a portable generator must be labeled for the type of derived system the transfer equipment wiring actually produces — bonded neutral or floating neutral.

Q4 NEC 702.7(C) Code lookup

A contractor sets up a temporary power inlet on a building's optional standby system to connect a portable generator through transfer equipment. Which section requires a warning sign at the inlet identifying whether the resulting system is separately derived (bonded neutral) or nonseparately derived (floating neutral)?

  1. A 702.5(A)
  2. B 702.11(A)
  3. C 702.7(C)
  4. D 702.7(B)
Show answer & explanation

Correct: C — 702.7(C)

702.7(C) specifically requires the warning sign at a power inlet stating whether the derived system is separately derived (bonded neutral) or nonseparately derived (floating neutral), based on the transfer equipment wiring. 702.7(B) covers grounding signage rather than the power-inlet derived-system warning, and 702.11(A) covers the actual grounding/bonding requirements for a separately derived system rather than the required signage.

What optional standby systems are

NEC 702.1

Optional standby systems back up loads where an outage causes discomfort or damage, not loss of life — that's the line separating them from Article 700/701 systems.

Q5 NEC 702.1

Per 702.1, optional standby systems are typically installed to protect against which consequence of a power outage?

  1. A Loss of feeder overcurrent protection
  2. B Loss of life safety illumination required by law
  3. C Failure of fire pump operation
  4. D Discomfort or damage to a product or process
Show answer & explanation

Correct: D — Discomfort or damage to a product or process

702.1 describes optional standby systems as protecting against discomfort, serious interruption of a process, or damage to product or process — property and convenience concerns, not the legally mandated life-safety functions covered elsewhere (like fire pumps or legally required standby/emergency systems).

Required malfunction and load-carrying signal devices

NEC 702.6

Optional standby systems should have audible/visual signals for source malfunction and for load-carrying status, but portable sources are exempt from the load-carrying signal.

Q6 NEC 702.6 Code lookup

A permanently installed optional standby generator is set up so it automatically picks up the load on utility failure. The owner wants an audible/visual indicator at the facility that alerts staff whenever the generator itself develops a malfunction. Which section specifically requires this malfunction signal?

  1. A 702.7(A)
  2. B 702.6(B)
  3. C 702.6(A)
  4. D 702.5(A)
Show answer & explanation

Correct: C — 702.6(A)

702.6(A) is the specific subsection requiring an audible/visual signal for malfunction of the optional standby source. 702.6(B) covers a different signal purpose (indicating the source is carrying load), and 702.7(A) governs standby signage, not signal devices.

Standby source signage at service equipment

NEC 702.7(A)

A sign at the service equipment (or dwelling disconnect) must identify the type and location of every on-site optional standby power source.

Q7 NEC 702.7(A) Code lookup

An optional standby generator is installed at a small retail strip mall (commercial occupancy). The AHJ wants to confirm the electrician has identified, at the service equipment, the type and location of the on-site standby power source. Which NEC section covers this requirement?

  1. A 702.6(A)
  2. B 702.7(A)
  3. C 702.5(C)
  4. D 702.4(A)(2)
Show answer & explanation

Correct: B — 702.7(A)

702.7(A) requires a sign at the service equipment identifying the type and location of each optional standby source for other-than-dwelling occupancies. 702.5(C) only covers documentation for interconnected/transfer equipment, and 702.6(A) covers malfunction signals, not signage identifying the source.

Interlocked disconnects for high-amperage generator power inlets

NEC 702.12(C)

A 100 A+ generator power inlet must be listed for the use, and unless the inlet itself is a rated disconnect, an interlocked disconnecting means is required.

Q8 NEC 702.12(C)

A facility installs a 200 A power inlet for connecting a portable generator, and the inlet is not rated as a disconnecting means. What does 702.12(C) require?

  1. A A dedicated transfer switch rated for 400 A
  2. B No additional requirement, since the inlet is listed equipment
  3. C An interlocked disconnecting means
  4. D GFCI protection on the inlet circuit
Show answer & explanation

Correct: C — An interlocked disconnecting means

Per 702.12(C), when a power inlet system rated 100 A or greater is not itself rated as a disconnecting means, an interlocked disconnecting means is required. Listing the equipment alone doesn't satisfy this — listing and the interlock (or a disconnect-rated inlet) are separate requirements. GFCI protection and transfer-switch sizing aren't addressed by this section.

Sizing stand-alone system capacity and conductors

NEC 710.15(A)

A stand-alone or microgrid power source only has to match the largest single load it must run, not the full calculated load — but conductors must be sized to the sum of all source output ratings.

Q9 NEC 710.15(A)

Under 710.15(A), the combined capacity of a stand-alone power source's firm sources must be sized to cover which load?

  1. A The largest single utilization equipment load connected to the system
  2. B The calculated general lighting load only
  3. C The full calculated load for the premises wiring system
  4. D 125% of the largest branch circuit rating
Show answer & explanation

Correct: A — The largest single utilization equipment load connected to the system

710.15(A) permits stand-alone source capacity to be less than the full calculated load, as long as it equals or exceeds the largest single utilization equipment load. The full calculated load option and the general-lighting-only option both misread the exception — general lighting load is explicitly excluded from counting as the single load, and 125% of a branch circuit rating isn't part of this sizing rule at all.

Calculating stand-alone inverter input circuit current

NEC 710.12

A stand-alone inverter's input circuit is sized for its continuous input current rating at rated power and the lowest input voltage, not nominal voltage.

Q10 NEC 710.12

Per NEC 710.12, at which condition is the maximum current for a stand-alone inverter's input circuit determined?

  1. A The inverter's momentary peak input current during start-up surge
  2. B The inverter's continuous input current rating at rated power and the highest input voltage
  3. C The inverter's continuous input current rating at rated power and the lowest input voltage
  4. D The inverter's continuous input current rating at rated power and nominal input voltage
Show answer & explanation

Correct: C — The inverter's continuous input current rating at rated power and the lowest input voltage

710.12 defines the maximum input circuit current as the stand-alone inverter's continuous input current rating when producing rated power at the lowest input voltage. Using nominal or the highest input voltage would understate the actual worst-case current, and a start-up surge is not the continuous rating this section addresses.

Single 120-volt vs. three-phase stand-alone supply

NEC 710.15(C)

A stand-alone system can feed a 120/240-volt panel with 120 volts only if there are no 240-volt outlets and no multiwire branch circuits, and it must carry a specific warning label.

Q11 NEC 710.15(C)

A stand-alone system supplies 120 volts only to a single-phase, 3-wire, 120/240-volt distribution panel. Under what condition is this permitted?

  1. A Only if the panel has no 240-volt outlets and no multiwire branch circuits
  2. B Only if a licensed engineer signs off on the installation
  3. C Only if the panel is limited to 60 amperes
  4. D Only if the panel serves a healthcare facility
Show answer & explanation

Correct: A — Only if the panel has no 240-volt outlets and no multiwire branch circuits

Per 710.15(C), a single 120-volt supply to a 120/240-volt panel is permitted only where there are no 240-volt outlets and no multiwire branch circuits. There's no amperage cap, healthcare-specific rule, or engineer sign-off requirement in this section.

Class 1 conductor size limits and insulation types

NEC 724.49

18 AWG and 16 AWG Class 1 conductors are capped by the Table 402.5 flexible-cord ampacities and must use a listed Class 1 insulation type; anything larger than 16 AWG follows normal Article 310 ampacity and insulation rules.

Q12 NEC 724.49

A Class 1 circuit uses 16 AWG conductors installed in a listed cable. Which table sets the maximum load ampacity for these conductors?

  1. A Table 250.122
  2. B Table 310.16
  3. C Table 402.5
  4. D Table 300.5
Show answer & explanation

Correct: C — Table 402.5

Per 724.49(A), 18 AWG and 16 AWG Class 1 conductors are limited to the ampacities specified in 402.5 (the flexible-cord ampacity table), not the general Table 310.16 ampacities that apply to conductors larger than 16 AWG.

Keeping access clear and installing Class 1 cable neatly

NEC 724.21

Never let cables block access to panels, and always support Class 1 cable so it can't be damaged by normal building use.

Q13 NEC 724.21 Code lookup

A dropped-ceiling area above an office has Class 1 control cables run exposed across the grid, and over time so many cables have accumulated that a technician can no longer lift several of the suspended ceiling panels to reach a junction box. Which section addresses this obstruction?

  1. A 724.21
  2. B 724.3(C)
  3. C 724.24
  4. D 724.46
Show answer & explanation

Correct: A — 724.21

724.21 specifically requires that access to electrical equipment behind removable panels, including suspended ceiling panels, not be blocked by an accumulation of wires and cables. 724.24 covers neat support of exposed cable runs generally but not equipment access being blocked, and 724.3(C)/724.46 deal with air-handling space restrictions and wiring methods, not panel access.

Class 1 circuit power limits and allowed power sources

NEC 724.40

A Class 1 circuit's source must cap out at 30 volts and 1000 volt-amperes, whether that's a transformer or another power source with the right overcurrent protection.

Q14 NEC 724.40

Per 724.40, what is the maximum rated output permitted for a source supplying a Class 1 circuit?

  1. A 50 volts and 1000 volt-amperes
  2. B 24 volts and 100 volt-amperes
  3. C 30 volts and 2500 volt-amperes
  4. D 30 volts and 1000 volt-amperes
Show answer & explanation

Correct: D — 30 volts and 1000 volt-amperes

724.40 sets the Class 1 source limit at 30 volts and 1000 volt-amperes. The 50 volt option confuses Class 1 with other low-voltage thresholds used elsewhere in the code, and the 2500 volt-ampere option is actually the VAmax ceiling for non-transformer sources under 724.40(B), not the overall Class 1 circuit limit.

Counting conductors and derating ampacity in raceways and cable trays

NEC 724.51

Class 1 conductors get fill and derating relief unless their continuous load exceeds 10% of ampacity — mix in power-supply conductors and the count-of-three trigger decides who gets derated.

Q15 NEC 724.51 Code lookup

A control panel has 14 Class 1 circuit conductors sharing a raceway, none of which carry a continuous load over 10 percent of the conductor's ampacity. Which section addresses whether the 310.15(C)(1) ampacity adjustment factors must be applied in this situation?

  1. A 724.51(A)
  2. B 724.49(A)
  3. C 724.51(B)
  4. D 724.51(C)
Show answer & explanation

Correct: A — 724.51(A)

724.51(A) governs Class 1-only conductor fill and ampacity adjustment, applying 310.15(C)(1) factors only when continuous loads exceed 10 percent of each conductor's ampacity. 724.51(B) instead covers a mixed raceway of power-supply and Class 1 conductors, which doesn't match this all-Class-1 scenario.

Running Class 1 circuits alongside other circuits in the same raceway

NEC 724.48

Class 1 circuits can share space with power wiring only when the loads are functionally associated, or when a barrier or listed method keeps them separated.

Q16 NEC 724.48

A Class 1 circuit and a power-supply circuit run in the same enclosure without a barrier. Under what condition is this permitted?

  1. A The equipment powered by the power-supply circuit is functionally associated with the Class 1 circuit
  2. B The power-supply circuit is on a dedicated overcurrent device
  3. C The conductors are stranded copper rather than solid
  4. D The Class 1 circuit operates at 30 volts or less
Show answer & explanation

Correct: A — The equipment powered by the power-supply circuit is functionally associated with the Class 1 circuit

724.48(B)(1) permits Class 1 and power-supply conductors to share a cable, enclosure, or raceway without a barrier only where the powered equipment is functionally associated with the Class 1 circuit. Voltage level, overcurrent device placement, and conductor stranding are not the deciding factors here.

General installation rules Class 1 circuits borrow from Chapter 3

NEC 724.3

Class 1 circuits aren't a self-contained article — 724.3 pulls in Chapter 3 raceway, fire-spread, air-handling, and grounding rules by reference.

Q17 NEC 724.3

A Class 1 circuit is being routed through a hazardous (classified) location. Under 724.3(D), when is this permitted?

  1. A Always, provided the raceway is metallic
  2. B Only if the circuit is remote-control rather than signaling
  3. C Only when another article of the Code specifically permits it
  4. D Always, as long as the conductors meet 300.17 fill requirements
Show answer & explanation

Correct: C — Only when another article of the Code specifically permits it

724.3(D) prohibits Class 1 circuits in hazardous (classified) locations except as permitted by other articles of the Code. Conductor fill under 300.17 (724.3(A)) is a separate, unrelated requirement and doesn't create an exception. There's no blanket allowance based on circuit function or raceway material.

Where Class 1 overcurrent devices can be located (taps and transformers)

NEC 724.45

A Class 1 overcurrent device normally sits at the supply point, but taps, transformer primaries, and electronic power source inputs can protect it instead if the math and wiring conditions line up.

Q18 NEC 724.45

A Class 1 circuit conductor is tapped from the load side of a branch-circuit overcurrent device. Per 724.45(C), what condition allows the branch-circuit device to serve as the tap's protection?

  1. A The branch-circuit device is rated at exactly 100 percent of the tap conductor's ampacity
  2. B The tap conductor is smaller than 14 AWG and rated for short-circuit duty only
  3. C The branch-circuit device rating is not more than 300 percent of the tap conductor's ampacity
  4. D The tap conductor is run in a separate raceway from the feeder
Show answer & explanation

Correct: C — The branch-circuit device rating is not more than 300 percent of the tap conductor's ampacity

724.45(C) permits Class 1 conductors 14 AWG and larger tapped from a controlled light and power circuit to be protected by the branch-circuit device only if its rating doesn't exceed 300% of the tap conductor's ampacity. The 100%-rating option and the under-14-AWG option don't match the rule's actual threshold or size requirement, and raceway separation isn't a condition in 724.45(C).

What counts as a power-limited circuit and which other articles apply

NEC 725.1

Article 725 covers power-limited and remote-control/signaling circuits not built into a device, and Class 2/3 circuits only borrow the specific Article 300 sections that 725 points to.

Q19 NEC 725.1

Which statement correctly describes how Article 300 applies to Class 2 and Class 3 circuits under Article 725?

  1. A Article 300 applies only when the circuit is installed in a plenum
  2. B Only the sections of Article 300 specifically referenced in Article 725 apply
  3. C All of Article 300 applies in full to Class 2 and Class 3 circuits
  4. D Article 300 never applies to Class 2 and Class 3 circuits under any condition
Show answer & explanation

Correct: B — Only the sections of Article 300 specifically referenced in Article 725 apply

725.3 states that only those sections of Article 300 referenced in Article 725 apply to Class 2 and Class 3 circuits — not the full article. The plenum condition in 725.3(B) is one specific reference, not the general rule for when Article 300 applies at all.

Listing and marking for power-over-data (Class 2) equipment

NEC 725.160

In a Class 2 power-and-data circuit, both the power source and the powered device must be listed, and power sources can't be paralleled unless listed for that use.

Q20 NEC 725.160 Code lookup

A campus Wi-Fi vendor wants to feed multiple PoE switches from paralleled Class 2 power sources to increase available current to remote access points. Which section addresses whether these power source outputs may be interconnected?

  1. A 725.139
  2. B 725.130
  3. C 725.144
  4. D 725.160
Show answer & explanation

Correct: D — 725.160

725.160 states that Class 2 power source output connections shall not be paralleled or otherwise interconnected unless listed for that purpose. 725.144 instead governs bundling of cables carrying both power and data, not interconnecting sources.

Wiring methods allowed on the load side of the power source

NEC 725.130

On the load side of a Class 2 or Class 3 power source, you can wire it like a Class 1 circuit or use dedicated Class 2/3 cable — but each path carries its own rules.

Q21 NEC 725.130 Code lookup

A low-voltage security system installer is running Class 2 power-and-data cable through the same open-top cable tray as the building's fire alarm's non-power-limited circuit conductors, with no barrier between them. Which section states the general rule requiring separation in this case?

  1. A 725.136(A)
  2. B 725.127
  3. C 725.136(G)
  4. D 725.139(D)(1)
Show answer & explanation

Correct: A — 725.136(A)

725.136(A) sets the general separation requirement between Class 2/Class 3 conductors and electric light, power, Class 1, and non-power-limited fire alarm circuit conductors; 725.136(G) only applies once you're specifically inside a cable tray installation, and 725.139(D)(1) governs mixing with communications cables, not power/Class 1/fire alarm conductors.

Combining Class 2/3 with communications and other listed circuits

NEC 725.139(E)

Class 2/3 cables can share a jacket, cable, or pathway with communications, fire alarm, fiber, CATV, and broadband cables — but only if everything involved is listed and jacketed.

Q22 NEC 725.139(E)

Under what condition can Class 2 and Class 3 conductors be installed in the same cable as communications circuit conductors?

  1. A Only if the Class 2/3 conductors are run in a separate raceway inside the communications cable jacket
  2. B The cable must be a listed communications cable installed per Part V of Article 800
  3. C Only if the Class 2/3 circuit is reclassified as Class 1
  4. D Only if the communications circuit is de-energized during installation
Show answer & explanation

Correct: B — The cable must be a listed communications cable installed per Part V of Article 800

Per 725.139(D)(1), Class 2 or Class 3 conductors are permitted in the same cable as communications conductors only if the cable is listed as a communications cable and installed per Part V of Article 800. There's no requirement to separate conductors into their own raceway, de-energize anything, or reclassify the circuit.

Ampacity limits for 4-pair cables carrying power and data (PoE)

NEC 725.144(A)

PoE current per conductor must stay within Table 725.144's ampacity limits, adjusted for bundle size and ambient temperature above 30°C.

Q23 NEC 725.144(A)

A PoE installation uses Type CL2 4-pair cable in an ambient temperature of 40°C (104°F). What must the installer do regarding Table 725.144?

  1. A Apply the correction factors from Table 310.15(B)(1)(1) or Equation 310.15(B) to the table's ampacities
  2. B Ignore the table since it only applies to Class 1 circuits
  3. C Use Table 725.144 unmodified, since it already accounts for all ambient temperatures
  4. D Double the Table 725.144 ampacity to account for the higher ambient
Show answer & explanation

Correct: A — Apply the correction factors from Table 310.15(B)(1)(1) or Equation 310.15(B) to the table's ampacities

Per 725.144(A), Table 725.144 ampacities apply at a 30°C (86°F) ambient; above that, correction factors from Table 310.15(B)(1)(1) or Equation 310.15(B) must be applied. The table is not ambient-independent, doesn't double, and isn't limited to Class 1 circuits — it governs Class 2 and Class 3 power-and-data cabling.

LP-marked cables for power-and-data transmission

NEC 725.144(B)

An LP-suffixed cable's marked current limit — not its standard ampacity — caps the power it can carry per conductor, unless a bundling exception under Table 725.144 allows more.

Q24 NEC 725.144(B)

A cable is marked "CL3-LP(0.9A) 75°C 23 AWG 4-pair." Absent any bundling exception, what is the maximum current per conductor this cable may supply?

  1. A 0.9 amperes
  2. B 1.8 amperes, twice the marked value, since it is a 4-pair cable
  3. C Whatever ampacity Table 310.16 lists for 23 AWG copper
  4. D The full 75°C ampacity rating regardless of marking
Show answer & explanation

Correct: A — 0.9 amperes

Per 725.144(B), an LP cable supplies power up to the marked current limit following the "-LP" suffix — here, 0.9 A per conductor. Table 310.16 doesn't apply to these communications-style conductors, the 75°C figure in the marking is a temperature rating, not an unlimited ampacity, and there's no rule doubling the limit for 4-pair cable.

Interconnecting and marking Class 2/3 power sources

NEC 725.60(B)

Never parallel or interconnect Class 2/3 power source outputs unless listed for it, and every Class 2/3 circuit must be durably marked at the equipment.

Q25 NEC 725.60(B) Code lookup

A manufacturer wants to sell a Class 2 power supply that lets its output be paralleled with another Class 2 power supply's output to boost available current for a low-voltage lighting run. Which section governs whether this interconnection is permitted?

  1. A 725.60(A)
  2. B 725.3(C)
  3. C 725.30
  4. D 725.60(B)
Show answer & explanation

Correct: D — 725.60(B)

725.60(B) is the specific rule prohibiting paralleling or interconnecting Class 2/Class 3 power source outputs unless the source is listed for that use. 725.60(A) only addresses what qualifies as a power source, not interconnection, and 725.30 covers circuit identification/marking, not paralleling outputs.

What counts as a listed Class 2/3 power source

NEC 725.60(A)

A Class 2 or Class 3 circuit must be fed from a listed Class 2/3 transformer, power supply, or other marked/listed source — you can't just current-limit an ordinary circuit and call it Class 2.

Q26 NEC 725.60(A) Code lookup

An installer wants to power a Class 2 circuit using a transformer that has not been listed or marked as a Class 2 power source, but claims the output falls within Chapter 9, Table 11(A) limits. An inspector rejects this. Which section specifies what equipment is permitted to serve as the power source for a Class 2 or Class 3 circuit?

  1. A 725.60(B)
  2. B 725.127
  3. C 725.60(C)
  4. D 725.60(A)
Show answer & explanation

Correct: D — 725.60(A)

725.60(A) lists the specific permitted power sources for Class 2/Class 3 circuits (listed transformers, listed power supplies, other listed marked equipment, thermocouples, or listed Class 2 batteries) — an unlisted transformer doesn't qualify even if its output happens to fall within Table 11(A)/(B) limits. 725.60(B) instead governs combining outputs of multiple power sources, and 725.60(C) covers marking requirements, not what qualifies as a source.

Separating circuits with barriers or raceways in enclosures

NEC 725.136(B)

Inside an enclosure, a barrier, a raceway, 6 mm (0.25 in.) of spacing, or a nonconductive sleeve can all substitute for full separation between Class 2/3 and other circuits.

Q27 NEC 725.136(B)

A device box contains Class 2 conductors entering solely to connect a piece of Class 2 equipment, alongside 120-volt power conductors. No barrier or raceway is used. What satisfies 725.136(D) here?

  1. A Twisting the Class 2 conductors together with the power conductors for support
  2. B Running the Class 2 conductors through the same knockout as the power conductors
  3. C Maintaining at least 6 mm (0.25 in.) separation between the Class 2 and power conductors
  4. D Nothing further is required since the circuits operate at 120 volts
Show answer & explanation

Correct: C — Maintaining at least 6 mm (0.25 in.) separation between the Class 2 and power conductors

725.136(D)(1) permits Class 2/3 conductors introduced solely to connect equipment to share a box with power or Class 1 conductors if routed to maintain a minimum 6 mm (0.25 in.) separation. Voltage alone doesn't exempt the installation, sharing a knockout doesn't provide separation, and twisting conductors together defeats the purpose entirely.

General rule: keep Class 2/3 separate from power and Class 1 circuits

NEC 725.136(A)

Class 2 and Class 3 cables can't share a cable, raceway, box, or enclosure with power, Class 1, or non-power-limited fire alarm conductors unless a specific exception in 725.136(B)–(I) applies.

Q28 NEC 725.136(A)

Under 725.136(A), what is the default rule for Class 2 and Class 3 cables sharing a raceway with electric light and power conductors?

  1. A It is prohibited only in commercial occupancies
  2. B It is prohibited unless an exception in 725.136(B) through (I) applies
  3. C It is allowed if the Class 2 cable is listed for the application
  4. D It is allowed as long as the power conductors are rated 20 amperes or less
Show answer & explanation

Correct: B — It is prohibited unless an exception in 725.136(B) through (I) applies

725.136(A) states Class 2 and Class 3 conductors shall not be placed with electric light, power, or Class 1 conductors in the listed enclosures unless permitted by 725.136(B) through (I). There's no blanket allowance based on the power circuit's amperage, the Class 2 cable's listing alone, or occupancy type — those factors matter only within the specific exceptions, not under the general rule itself.

Marking requirements for Class 4 transmitters and receivers

NEC 726.124

Both the transmitter and the receiver in a Class 4 fault-managed power circuit need durable, visible labels stating the maximum voltage and current at every connection point.

Q29 NEC 726.124

Per 726.124(A), what must a Class 4 transmitter's marking include at each connection point?

  1. A Maximum voltage and current output
  2. B The conductor size feeding the connection point
  3. C Only the Class 4 designation, without any ratings
  4. D The manufacturer's installation date
Show answer & explanation

Correct: A — Maximum voltage and current output

726.124(A) requires the transmitter marking to show, at each connection point, the maximum voltage and current output, not just the Class 4 designation, an install date, or wire size.

Installing Class 4 conductors with other Class 4, Class 2/3, or communications circuits

NEC 726.139

Class 4 circuits can share cable space with other circuits, but conductors of a lower-insulation class can only ride in the same cable if their insulation meets Class 4 requirements.

Q30 NEC 726.139

An installer wants to run Class 2 conductors in the same cable as Class 4 conductors. What must be true about the Class 2 conductors?

  1. A They must be run in a separate jacket within the same raceway only
  2. B They must be limited to power-limited fire alarm applications
  3. C They must be separated by a minimum 2-inch air gap inside the cable
  4. D Their insulation must be rated at least as high as required for Class 4 circuits
Show answer & explanation

Correct: D — Their insulation must be rated at least as high as required for Class 4 circuits

726.139(B) requires that when Class 2, Class 3, or communications conductors share a cable with Class 4 conductors, their insulation must meet or exceed what's required for Class 4 circuits. A physical air gap inside a single cable isn't a real NEC mechanism, and the fire-alarm limitation and separate-jacket-in-raceway ideas describe different provisions (jacketed cable sharing under 726.139(C), not conductors within one cable).

Separating Class 4 circuits from light/power/Class 1/fire alarm circuits

NEC 726.136

Class 4 circuits can't share space with light, power, Class 1, non-power-limited fire alarm, or medium-power broadband circuits unless separated by a barrier, raceway, spacing, or listed method under 726.136(B)–(H).

Q31 NEC 726.136

A Class 4 circuit conductor and a non-power-limited fire alarm circuit conductor are both routed into a device box with no barrier and no raceway. Under 726.136, what must be true for this to be permitted?

  1. A The device box has a single opening, regardless of conductor arrangement
  2. B The Class 4 conductors are introduced solely to connect equipment on the Class 4 circuit and one of the separation conditions in 726.136(D) is met
  3. C The fire alarm circuit conductors are rated for 300 volts or more to ground
  4. D The box is metal rather than nonmetallic
Show answer & explanation

Correct: B — The Class 4 conductors are introduced solely to connect equipment on the Class 4 circuit and one of the separation conditions in 726.136(D) is met

726.136(D) permits Class 4 conductors in device boxes with light, power, Class 1, non-power-limited fire alarm, or medium-power broadband conductors only when introduced solely to connect Class 4-connected equipment, and only if the 6 mm (0.25 in.) routing separation in (D)(1) or the 150-volts-or-less-with-CL4-cable condition in (D)(2) is satisfied. A single-opening enclosure is the condition addressed in 726.136(E), not (D), and box material or high fire-alarm voltage isn't the qualifying condition under 726.136.

Ampacity rules for Class 4 cables

NEC 726.144

Class 4 cables use standard 310.15 ampacity for 16-6 AWG conductors, but 24-17 AWG conductors must instead be marked with their allowable ampacity as FMP-XXA.

Q32 NEC 726.144 Code lookup

A contractor is installing 12 AWG Class 4 fault-managed power cable in a commercial building and needs to determine the cable's allowable ampacity based on its temperature rating. Which section governs how to determine the ampacity for this conductor size?

  1. A 726.144
  2. B 726.121
  3. C 726.124
  4. D 726.130
Show answer & explanation

Correct: A — 726.144

726.144 is the Ampacity section, requiring 16 AWG–6 AWG Class 4 cable conductors to comply with 310.15 based on temperature rating. 726.130 covers terminals/connectors and 726.124 covers marking requirements, not ampacity determination; 726.121 addresses power sources and fault management, not conductor ampacity.

Which Code Rules Govern Class 4 Circuits

NEC 726.3

Class 4 circuit cables follow Article 722 for listing and installation, and only the Article 300 sections that Article 722 itself references apply.

Q33 NEC 726.3

Per 726.3, the listing and installation of Class 4 circuit cables must comply with which article?

  1. A Article 725
  2. B Article 800
  3. C Article 722
  4. D Article 300, applied in full
Show answer & explanation

Correct: C — Article 722

726.3 requires Class 4 circuit cables to comply with Article 722 for listing and installation. Article 725 covers Class 1, 2, and 3 circuits, not Class 4, and Article 800 covers communications circuits — neither governs Class 4 cable installation. Article 300 only applies where Article 722 references it, not in full.

Listing requirement for Class 4 system devices

NEC 726.170

Every active Class 4 device must carry a Class 4 listing, and that listing must name any other device it depends on for safe operation.

Q34 NEC 726.170 Code lookup

A fault-managed power system installer is selecting a Class 4 transmitter/receiver pair for a job. Which section requires that the active components be listed as Class 4 devices and that the listing identify compatible devices when interoperability with specific system devices is required?

  1. A 726.124
  2. B 726.170
  3. C 726.121
  4. D 726.130
Show answer & explanation

Correct: B — 726.170

726.170 is the listing requirement, mandating that Class 4 active components be listed as Class 4 devices and that dependent/compatible devices be identified in the listing. 726.130 covers listing of terminals and connectors specifically, not the active devices themselves, and 726.124/726.121 govern marking and power sources, not listing.

Fault management: when a Class 4 transmitter must interrupt power

NEC 726.121(A)

A Class 4 transmitter must interrupt power the instant a fault — short circuit, dangerous line-to-line or ground fault, overcurrent, or monitoring failure — creates a fire or shock risk.

Q35 NEC 726.121(A)

Under 726.121(A), which of the following is listed as a condition requiring a Class 4 transmitter to interrupt the circuit?

  1. A A line-to-line fault that presents no meaningful risk of fire or shock
  2. B An overcurrent condition on the circuit between transmitter and receiver
  3. C Normal startup inrush current when the receiver load energizes
  4. D Routine voltage drop across the conductor length
Show answer & explanation

Correct: B — An overcurrent condition on the circuit between transmitter and receiver

726.121(A) lists overcurrent as one of the six trigger conditions. Ordinary inrush current, a line-to-line fault with no meaningful risk, and normal voltage drop are not fault conditions requiring interruption — the rule only targets conditions creating an unacceptable risk of fire or electric shock.

Installing fire-resistive cable systems: mounting, supports, raceways, and boxes

NEC 728.5

Every physical part of a fire-resistive cable system — mounting, supports, raceway, cable tray, and boxes — must be the exact listed components from that system's listing, not substitutes.

Q36 NEC 728.5

An electrician installs a fire-resistive cable system in a raceway. The raceway itself is UL listed for general wiring but is NOT part of the fire-resistive cable system's listing. Does this installation comply with 728.5(C)?

  1. A Yes, because raceway listing only matters for cable trays, not raceways
  2. B Yes, because any listed raceway satisfies Chapter 9 fill requirements
  3. C No, because the raceway must be listed as part of that specific fire-resistive cable system
  4. D No, because fire-resistive cable can never be installed in a raceway
Show answer & explanation

Correct: C — No, because the raceway must be listed as part of that specific fire-resistive cable system

728.5(C) requires that where fire-resistive cable is listed for use in a raceway, the raceway, couplings, and connectors must all be listed as part of that fire-resistive cable system — a generically listed raceway isn't enough. Raceway use is permitted when the system's listing allows it, so the option claiming it's never allowed is wrong, and general Chapter 9 fill compliance doesn't substitute for the system-specific listing requirement.

Fire-resistive cable pulling lubricants, vertical supports, and splices

NEC 728.5(H)

Every step of installing fire-resistive cable — lubricant, vertical support, and any splice — must match the specific listed system, or the fire rating is void.

Q37 NEC 728.5(H)

An electrician is pulling fire-resistive cable through a raceway and wants to use a wire-pulling lubricant to ease the pull. What does 728.5(F) require?

  1. A No lubricant may be used on fire-resistive cable under any circumstance
  2. B Any UL-listed general-purpose pulling lubricant is acceptable
  3. C The lubricant must be listed as part of the fire-resistive cable system
  4. D Lubricant is permitted only if the raceway is metallic
Show answer & explanation

Correct: C — The lubricant must be listed as part of the fire-resistive cable system

728.5(F) requires the pulling lubricant to be listed as part of the fire-resistive cable system itself — a generic listed lubricant that isn't part of that specific system's listing doesn't satisfy the rule. Lubricant use isn't banned outright, and raceway material isn't the deciding factor.

Equipment grounding conductor rules for fire-resistive cable systems

NEC 728.60

In a fire-resistive cable system, the equipment grounding conductor must match the listed system's fire-resistive cable unless the system itself lists and marks an alternative.

Q38 NEC 728.60 Code lookup

A contractor is running a listed fire-resistive cable system through metal raceway on a project that requires an equipment grounding conductor. The system's documentation does not specify a permissible equipment grounding conductor. Which section tells the contractor what conductor must be used as the equipment grounding conductor in this case?

  1. A 728.120
  2. B 728.5(C)
  3. C 728.60
  4. D 728.5(E)
Show answer & explanation

Correct: C — 728.60

728.60 governs equipment grounding conductors for fire-resistive cable systems and states that if the system does not specify a permissible EGC, the same fire-resistive cable described in the system must be used. 728.5(C) only addresses raceways and couplings as an installation requirement, not grounding conductor selection.

EMS Current-Limiting: Setpoints, Failsafe, Access, and Marking

NEC 750.30(C)

An EMS can limit conductor current below full nameplate load, but it must fail safe, restrict setting access to qualified persons, and the equipment must be field marked with the setpoint and a no-bypass warning.

Q39 NEC 750.30(C)

An energy management system is used to limit current on a feeder conductor. What must the EMS do if it malfunctions?

  1. A Switch to a backup setpoint 20% higher than normal
  2. B Automatically cease current flow
  3. C Alert qualified personnel within 24 hours
  4. D Log the fault and continue operating at the last known setpoint
Show answer & explanation

Correct: B — Automatically cease current flow

750.30(C)(2) requires the EMS to use monitoring and controls that automatically cease current flow upon malfunction. Continuing to run on a backup or last-known value, or merely logging and alerting later, would let a malfunctioning limiter keep feeding a circuit it can no longer safely control.

Loads an EMS Must Never Override or Disconnect

NEC 750.20

An energy management system can shed ordinary loads, but it can never override alternate-source controls, defeat load-shedding for life-safety systems, or cut power to elevators, hazardous-location ventilation, emergency lighting, or health care essential systems.

Q40 NEC 750.20

Under 750.20, an energy management system is prohibited from overriding controls needed to ensure continuity of an alternate power source for which of the following?

  1. A Critical operations power systems
  2. B Electric vehicle charging equipment
  3. C Decorative landscape lighting circuits
  4. D General-purpose receptacle branch circuits
Show answer & explanation

Correct: A — Critical operations power systems

750.20 lists critical operations power systems among the loads whose alternate-source continuity an EMS cannot override, along with fire pumps, health care facilities, emergency systems, and legally required standby systems. Landscape lighting, EV charging, and general-purpose receptacles are ordinary loads the EMS is free to manage.

Loomi · NEC exam prep

2,035 questions free on the web. 12,934 in the app.

Loomi's full journeyman bank is timed, NEC-referenced, and runs on spaced repetition that hammers what you miss. Try everything free for 3 days.

Get launch access